South Africa levies a 20% dividend withholding tax on dividends paid to shareholders unless they are exempt from dividend tax.

Shareholders that are tax resident in jurisdictions other than South Africa may qualify for a reduced rate under a double taxation agreement with South Africa.

To apply for this reduced rate, non-SA taxpayers should complete and submit a declaration form to the respective registrars for the jurisdiction on which register you hold the relevant shares. View details of the registrars on our Registrars page. Please do not send the forms to Old Mutual.

For any queries relating to your dividend tax please consult a financial adviser.